

Village of Grantsburg Airport Committee Meeting Thursday, September 2, 2021

The Airport Committee for the Village of Grantsburg met on Thursday, September 2, 2021 at 3:30 p.m. at the Village Office, 316 S. Brad Street, Grantsburg, Wisconsin.

Present: Chairman/Trustee Muehlberg, Trustee Janke, Trustee Java

Others present: Deputy Clerk/Treasurer Allison Longhenry, John Larson-Burnett Dairy

<u>Call to Order</u> Chairman/Trustee Muehlberg called the Airport Committee meeting to order at 3:30 p.m. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

<u>Airport Field Entrances</u> John Larson from Burnett Dairy explained their plan for entrances off County Road D to access the fields at the Airport they use for spreading wastewater.

Airport Runway Project. C/T Meyer informed the committee she had attended a virtual predesign meeting with Matt Messina, Airport Development Engineer, WI DOT/DTIM/Bureau of Aeronautics, S E H Airport Engineers Adinda Van Espen, PE Project Manager, Kaci Nowicki, Senior Airport Planning Manager and Shawn McMahon, PE Senior Airport Engineering Manager, Deputy C/T Longhenry and DPW Konobeck on August 17, 2021. S E H's minutes from this meeting were included for the committee's review. Messina explained the project a rehabilitation of the blacktop runway and lighting to increase pavement life by 10-15 years and to leave the ramp and taxiways alone. The project is not a reconstruction of the existing blacktop runway and taxiways with replacement of the runway lights as the petition filed with the Secretary of Transportation or the referendum voted on at the November 3, 2020 election states. Messina explained the Federal Bureau of Aeronautics would not allow a runway reconstruction without a Master Plan developed which includes a new ALP-Airport Layout Plan. The Committee asked C/T Meyer to invite Messina to the next Village Board meeting to explain.

<u>2022 Budget</u>. Nothing was discussed until the status of the runway project was known.

Adjournment. Chairman/Trustee Muehlberg adjourned the Airport Committee meeting at 4:20 p.m.

Sheila Meyer Clerk/Treasurer