

## **Caucus Meeting**

The Village Caucus was held on Monday, January 8, 2018 @ 7:00 p.m. at 316 S. Brad Street, Grantsburg, Wisconsin.

The Village Caucus was called to order at 7:00 p.m. by Village President, Larry Ebersold.

Village President, Larry Ebersold made the motion to nominate Diane Barton to be the chairman to conduct the caucus; seconded by Gladys Becvar.

Pam Ness made the motion to nominate Gladys Becvar to be one of the tellers to canvass the vote; seconded by Rod Kleiss. Caylin Muehlberg made the motion to nominate Ken Kutz to be the second teller to canvass the vote; seconded by Jared Woody.

Diane Barton opened the election process for nominations of trustees.

Brent Blomberg made the motion to nominate **Greg Peer as Village Trustee**; seconded by Jeff Schinzing. Frank Becvar made the motion to nominate **Vincent Zilka as Village Trustee**; seconded by Gladys Becvar. Rod Kleiss made the motion to nominate **Caylin Muehlberg as Village Trustee**; seconded by Ken Kutz. Todd Snyder made the motion to nominate **Joe Sturdevant as Village Trustee**; seconded by Jeff Schinzing. LuAnn Ebersold made the motion to nominate **Eldon Freese as Village Trustee**; seconded by Larry Ebersold. Rod Kleiss made the motion to nominate **Jared Woody as Village Trustee**; seconded by Eldon Freese. Joe Sturdevant made the motion to nominate **Todd Snyder as Village Trustee**; seconded by Diane Barton. LuAnn Ebersold made the motion to nominate **Todd Snyder as Village Trustee**; seconded by Diane Barton. LuAnn Ebersold made the motion to nominate **Michael Longhenry as Village Trustee**; seconded by Larry Ebersold.

Chairman, Diane Barton noted that there were more nominations than required for the 3 Village Trustee Spots. The maximum requirement per Wisconsin State statutes states that filling of the spots shall equal to twice the number of positions to be filled. There were 8 nominations, so the number needed to be voted down to 6 candidates which equals the 2 per 3 Village Trustee Seats available. Whoever receives the 6 highest votes among those candidates shall be nominated and certified.

Chairman, Diane Barton directed the audience of electors who desired to vote to do paper ballots and directed each elector to vote for no more than 3. The 6 candidates receiving the most votes are on the ballot. The results were tallied by Gladys Becvar and Ken Kutz and the results were as follows:

Greg Peer – 16 Caylin Muehlberg – 15 Vincent Zilka – 13 Jared Woody – 10 Michael Longhenry – 5 Joe Sturdevant – 4 Todd Snyder – 4 Eldon Freese – 3

Eldon Freese had the lowest vote so he was eliminated. There was a tie between Joe Sturdevant and Todd Snyder, so Chairman, Diane Barton directed the electors to do another paper vote to eliminate the tie between Joe Sturdevant and Todd Snyder. Gladys Beer and Ken Kutz tallied those votes, and the results were:



January 8, 2018

**Caucus Meeting** 

## Todd Snyder – 14 Joe Sturdevant – 9

The results of paper ballot voting by the electors for the following individuals appearing on the ballot was:

Greg Peer Caylin Muehlberg Vincent Zilka Jared Woody Michael Longhenry Todd Snyder

Chairman, Diane Barton announced that the Nominations are closed to the electors of the village and all others present.

Chairman, Diane Barton directed Village Clerk, Patty Bjorklund to draw lot placement of the 6 individuals voted for by the electors to be placed on the ballot and the results were:

Todd Snyder #1 Greg Peer #2 Caylin Muehlberg #3 Jared Woody #4 Michael Longhenry #5 Vincent Zilka #6

Village President, Larry Ebersold closed the Village Caucus at 7:30 p.m.

Submitted by:

Patty Bjorklund – WCMC, CMC, CMTW Village Clerk, Deputy-Treasurer January 8, 2018